Photodynamic therapy

What is Photodynamic Therapy also called PDT ?

What’s the basic idea?
Called PDT (Photodynamic Therapy), PDT is a two-stage therapeutic treatment. First the IV injection of a drug (photosensitizer), followed by a light illumination of the organ to be treated at a wavelength corresponding to the activation wavelength of the injected drug. For example: 630 nm for Photofrin.

How does it work?
The reason of this illumination, at the place of treatment, is to cause a photochemical reaction which will generate the liberation of toxic substances resulting in the cellular death. It is this association of photosensitizer together with monochromatic light, emitted by a laser, which will allow the specific targeting of tumorous cells and their destruction.

What is the light source?
The light source is a diode laser emitting at a specific “monochromatic” wavelength corresponding to the activation wavelength of injected photosensitizer. The wavelength varies from red to near-IR (630 nm to 800 nm) according to type and family of photosensitizer. The effect of treatment and depth of penetration depends of photosensitizer type. Blue light penetration is limited compared to red of near IR-light.

How to bring laser light to treatment site?
In gastroenterology, pulmonology, urology most of PDT treatments are performed by endoscopic solutions. The laser source is coupled to an optical fibre which will be introduced in patient’s body using the biopsy channel of an endoscope to the site to be treated : oesophagus, lungs, biliary tract, prostate, bladder, etc. In dermatology, the light source will be based on panels of LEDs for a direct illumination of skin.

Which tumours can be treated?
PDT has been used for the palliative or curative treatment of numerous types of diseases.

Diffusors

Clinical Studies

LifePhotonic GmbH 2023 GDPR Cookie Consent with Real Cookie Banner

Photodynamische Therapie

Was heißt „Photodynamische Therapie“ oder kurz „PDT”?
PDT ist ein zweistufiges therapeutisches Verfahren. Zuerst wird ein Arzneimittel (Photosensitizer) intravenöse injiziert; mehrere Stunden später erfolgt die Bestrahlung des zu behandelnden Organs mittels Laserlicht. Die Wellenlänge richtet sich nach der Aktivierungswellenlänge des injizierten Arzneimittels, z. B. 630 nm für Photofrin.

Durch die Beleuchtung wird eine photochemische Reaktion ausgelöst, welche die Freisetzung von toxischen Stoffen verursacht, die die Tumorzellen abtöten. Das Zusammenspiel von Photosensitizer und Laserlicht ermöglichen die gezielte Ausrichtung auf Tumorzellen und ihre Zerstörung.

Die Lichtquelle ist ein Diodenlaser, der Laserlicht in einer spezifischen “monochromatischen” Wellenlänge entsprechend der Aktivierungswellenlänge des eingespritzten Photosensitizers emittiert. Die Wellenlänge variiert von Rot bis nahe an Infrarot (630 nm bis 800 nm) je nach Art des Photosensitizer. Die Wirkung der Behandlung und die Eindringtiefe hängen vom Photosensitizer-Typ ab. Blaues Licht dringt nicht so tief ein wie rotes oder infrarot-nahes Licht.

Wie kommt das Laserlicht an den Behandlungsort?
In der Gastroenterologie, Pneumologie und Urologie werden die meisten PDT-Behandlungen endoskopisch durchgeführt. D.h. der Laser wird mit einer optischen Faser verbunden, die mittels des Biopsiekanals eines Endoskops in den Körper des Patienten eingeführt wird bis zum Behandlungsort: Ösophagus, Lunge, Gallengang, der Prostata, der Blase, usw. In der Dermatologie wird die Haut direkt von der Lichtquelle bestrahlt.

Welche Tumore können behandelt werden?
PDT wird für die palliative oder kurative Behandlung zahlreicher Arten von Krankheiten eingesetzt.

Diffusoren für PDT

Klinische Studien